August 21, 2015

The Honorable Cory Gardner Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation 512 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Gary Peters Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation 254 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Gardner and Peters,

Thank you for the opportunity to provide input regarding the scientific community's priorities for the reauthorization for the America COMPETES Act.

Scientific research is an important engine that powers our nation's economic growth. The National Science Foundation (NSF) is the federal agency that supports the fundamental scientific research that is the foundation upon which we build knowledge and inspire innovation. Through competitive, peer-reviewed research grants, the NSF funds discoveries that will help to solve the most challenging problems facing society. NSF research, education, and training programs lead to new patents, prepare a highly skilled workforce, and stimulate the creation of new jobs. Many of the groundbreaking ideas that have enhanced the nation's economic competitiveness or improved the quality of our lives have grown from NSF-funded research.

These efforts, however, require a sustained federal investment. Unpredictable annual swings in federal funding disrupt research programs, create uncertainty in the research community, and stall the development of the next great idea. Funding for basic research has been stagnant in recent years, particularly when adjusted for inflation. Given the importance of research and development to our economic growth and global competitiveness, Congress should make new, multi-year investments in NSF.

We encourage the Committee to pursue a reauthorization bill that builds on the following principles:

- NSF should maintain its focus on fundamental discovery. The agency's mission should not be driven towards commercial outcomes.
- Reauthorization of the NSF should outline a path for new investments.
 Sustained growth in funding is needed for programs that support basic research and science education.
- Congress should recognize the unique role of NSF as the only agency supporting the full breadth of scientific research and education.

- Congress should not pick winners and losers among NSF research programs.
 The National Science Board and leadership of the NSF must retain the authority and nimbleness to allocate funding among the disciplines.
- Legislation should support the existing merit review system. NSF's peer review system has a proven track record of supporting high quality research that advances our knowledge and leads to solutions for the challenges facing modern society.

Again, we thank you for your leadership on this issue and hope that this and other science-related legislation might move through the Senate in a bipartisan way.

Sincerely,

Robert Gropp, Ph.D.

Interim Co-Executive Director

American Institute of Biological Sciences

Scott M. Lanyon, Ph.D.

President

American Ornithologists' Union

Ellen Bergfeld, Ph.D.

CEO

American Society of Agronomy

Larry G. Allen, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Ichthyologists

f. ddall

and Herpetologists

Eileen A. Lacey, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Mammalogists

Mark Siddall, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Parasitologists

Julian I. Schroeder, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Plant Biologists

Patrick Herendeen, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Plant

Taxonomists

Marilyn A. Norconk, Ph.D.

President

American Society of Primatologists

Christopher Beck, Ph.D.

President

Association for Biology Laboratory

Education

Robind. Charden

Robin L. Chazdon, Ph.D. **Executive Director** Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation

Richard Olmstead, Ph.D. President

Botanical Society of America

Martin G. Raphael, Ph.D.

President

Cooper Ornithological Society

Olin E. Rhodes, Jr., Ph.D.

President

Association of Ecosystem Research Centers

James Elser, Ph.D.

President

Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography

Leonard Krishtalka, Ph.D.

Director

Biodiversity Institute

The University of Kansas

Kenneth L. Heck, Jr., Ph.D.

Ken Herk

President

Coastal and Estuarine Research

Federation

Ellen Bergfeld, Ph.D.

CEO

Crop Science Society of America

monica S. Turner

Monica G. Turner, Ph.D. President

Ecological Society of America

Jasper Rine, Ph.D.

President

Genetics Society of America

Peter English, Ph.D. Executive Director Human Anatomy and Physiology Society

Susan | Weller

Susan J. Weller, Ph.D. Executive Director

James Ford Bell Museum of Natural History and Planetarium

Joseph A. Cook, Ph.D.

Museum Director

Museum of Southwestern Biology

University of New Mexico

Phillip S. muller, Jr.

Phillip G. Mulder, Jr., Ph.D. President

Entomological Society of America

James Hanken, Ph.D.

Director

Harvard Museum of Comparative

Zoology

Andreas Zedrosser, Ph.D.

Acting President

International Organization for Bear

Research and Management

Robert B. Waide, Ph.D.

Executive Director

Long Term Ecological Research

Network

Georgiana May, Ph.D.

President-Elect

Mycological Society of America

Nancy Rabalais

Nancy Rabalais, Ph.D. President

National Association of Marine

Laboratories

Sarah D. Oktay, Ph.D

President

Organization of Biological Field Stations

Frederick W. Zechman, Ph.D.

President

Phycological Society of America

Michael Mares, Ph.D.

Director

Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of

Natural History

Greg Schiefer Executive Director

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry of North America

Larry Page, Ph.D.

President

Natural Science Collections

Alliance

Steven M. Holland, Ph.D.

President

Paleontological Society

David J. Caldwell, Ph.D.

President

Poultry Science Association

Luke J. Swetland President and CEO

Santa Barbara Museum of

Natural History

Byron Adams, Ph.D.

President

Society of Nematologists

John A. Long, Ph.D.
President
Society of Vertebrate Paleontology

Elizabeth Regin

Elizabeth Adkins-Regan, Ph.D. President Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology

Peter Wainwright, Ph.D. President

Pch (. h

Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology

Andrew Bentley, Ph.D. President

Society for the Preservation of

Natural History Collections

Ellen Bergfeld, Ph.D.

CEO

Soil Science Society of America

Kimberli Ponzio President

Society of Wetland Scientists

Cassandra L. Quave, Ph.D.

President

Society for Economic Botany

Santiago Schnell, Ph.D.

President

Society for Mathematical Biology

Aaron M. Bauer, Ph.D.

President

Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles

Gregory Long

Chief Executive Officer

The New York Botanical Garden

Jane gress

Janet Franklin, Ph.D.
President
US Regional Association of the International
Association for Landscape Ecology